Thursday, May 26, 2016

Lies I Live By by Lauren Sabel @goddessfish @laurensabel




Lies I Live By
by Lauren Sabel


GENRE: YA Thriller


BLURB:

These are the facts: My name is Callie Sinclair. I am seventeen years old. I live in San Francisco. I love my boyfriend, Charlie. I work for a secret governmental agency. I am a psychic spy. This romantic, action-packed twist on the classic spy novel is perfect for fans of Ally Carter’s Embassy Row series or for any reader who enjoys cinematic writing and stories of romance and intrigue.

At seventeen, Callie is the government’s youngest psychic spy, trained to track dangerous people and weapons in her visions. When another young—and handsome and witty—psychic joins the agency, Callie’s personal and professional lives get messy all at once. If she can’t find a way to change the events she’s seen in her visions, she could lose the people she loves most . . . and her mind. Literally.

Richly painted against the backdrop of San Francisco and Berkeley, Lauren Sabel’s enthralling novel captures the thrill of exploring a unique power in a dangerous world.



EXCLUSIVE EXCERPT

“Home already?” Mom asks through the window.

I get up and unlock the front door. “It’s seven o’clock,” I remind her. “Most normal people have eaten by now.”

“Oh, Cal, you and this normal thing.” Mom steps into the living room, stopping short when she sees that I’m not alone. “Charlie, what a pleasure to see you.”

“The pleasure’s mine, ma’am,” Charlie says, getting to his feet.

She waves her hand for him to sit down, and he settles back on the couch. “How’s your mom?” Mom asks, as if she and Grace have anything in common. Mom’s an academic; at fifty-seven, she runs the science department at Stanford, does occasional work for NASA, and uses words like existential disorientation in a regular sentence. Charlie’s mom is a masseuse, is obsessed with healthy things like brown rice and seaweed, and doesn’t call parties “necessary social intervention.” I love Grace.

“Mom’s fine, thanks for asking,” Charlie says.

“Glad to hear it,” Mom says, and then she blushes, so I know she’s lost something even more important than her house keys this time. “Has either of you seen my phone?”

Mom says she doesn’t save room in her brain for the small things, and with her genius intellect, I believe it. But sometimes I feel like the parent, following her around and picking up her misplaced books and jewelry.

I scan my memory. “Um . . . kitchen. Third drawer on the left, second row, two items back,” I say. “Next to your knitting needles.”

Mom pops into the kitchen and I hear her banging drawers open. “Found it!” She steps back into the living room, her house keys jingling from one hand and cell phone from the other. “They were both in there,” she says. “But I’ve definitely lost my knitting needles.”

“And your yarn,” I remind her.


AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Lauren Sabel lives in the quirky dark spaces of her mind, and she tries to shed light on these spaces in her books. After publishing VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD in Summer 2014 with Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of Harper Collins, she confronted her lifelong fear of being psychic by writing LIES I LIVE BY. Since in this YA thriller, teenage psychic spy Callie Sinclair works undercover for the government, forced to hide her real identity from everyone she loves, Lauren is now certain she’s on the CIA watch list.

Social Networks:

Instagram: laurensabel

Book Purchase Links:

LIES I LIVE BY:





GIVEAWAY

Lauren will be awarding $30 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour




a Rafflecopter giveaway


No comments: