Friday, August 9, 2013

Mandatory Release by Jess Riley: Book Blitz ad Excerpt


 







Title: Mandatory Release
Author: Jess Riley

 Release date: July 16, 2013 

Age Group: Adult 

Genre: Dude Lit / Edgy Women’s Fiction 

Tour organized by: AToMR Tours

 

 
 
 
 
Book Description:
 

With appeal for fans of Jonathan Tropper, Tom Perrotta, and Laurie Notaro, this snarky mashup of Girls and Oz is so painfully honest you might think you’re reading a memoir—except the author isn’t a smart-ass guy in a wheelchair who works in a prison.    

Recently paralyzed in a car accident, thirty-year-old Graham Finch spends his days trying to rehabilitate a caseload of unruly inmates and his nights on one bad date after another, attempting to rehabilitate his heart— 

—until his high school crush Drew Daniels walks through the prison gates one hot summer morning. On the run from a painful past that’s nearly crushed her faith in love, Drew is a new teacher at Lakeside Correctional. Graham, smitten all over again, tries to redirect his unrequited feelings. But when your heart keeps looking back, it's not easy to turn it forward. 

Amidst escalating violence at work, Drew is forced to confront her secrets, find a way to forgive old sins, and learn how to listen to her heart and her head when it comes to men. Graham must also learn to make peace with his own past. Together they realize that if you’re going to save yourself, sometimes the best way to do it is by saving someone else first. If only finding their way to one another was easier than working with convicted felons.

Loaded with twisted humor and pathos, Mandatory Release is a darkly comic, unexpectedly sexy love story about broken people putting themselves back together. People who learn that no matter what you lock up—a person, a secret, or your heart—sooner or later, everything must be released.
 

Links to the book: 

 
 
 
 

 


Kendra hums along to the ambient music for a few bars, her eyes skipping over the other dining patrons, before they settle back on me. Her lips curl ever so slightly, and I can almost feel what’s coming next; the air over our booth develops a lascivious weight. Her curl becomes a full-on lewd smile and she raises her eyebrows. “So I know you’re not supposed to ask these things on the first date, but I have to know. You can’t feel anything … down there … right?”

I cringe and patiently match her smile. “No, but please don’t stab my thigh with a fork to prove my point.”

She leans forward, tracing a coy finger through the condensation on her plastic cup. “But I bet you’ve found ways to compensate, right?”

I sigh and close my eyes.

“Oral sex,” Kendra stage-whispers, one hand cupping the side of her mouth in an empty homage to privacy. A kid, maybe nine or ten, spins around in his seat and stares at her.

“Yeah. I got that.” I shake my head and give her a bracing grin. “Born on the Fourth of July?” I ask. Surely she’d gotten that idea from the infamous line, “If ya ain’t got it in the hips, ya better have it in the lips!”

“No, October eighth.”

 

 


 

Jess Riley’s experiences teaching in a medium-security prison inspired the novel Mandatory Release. Her debut novel (Driving Sideways, now in its fourth printing) was published by Random House in 2008. She lives in Oshkosh, Wisconsin with her husband and nutty Cairn Terrier in a 130-year-old money pit farmhouse. When she’s not writing novels, she’s a Grant Writer for school districts nationwide.

Author Social Media Links:
Twitter: @jessrileywrites 

Goodreads: Goodreads


 
Links to the book: 

 
 

 




 
 
 
 

 
To see other stops on the tour for reviews, guest posts, and excerpt click here
 


 
 

1 comment:

desiree reilly said...

this book look great
and it sound like the great read fro 2 day