Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Malice by Griffin Hayes-Interview: Featured Author Spot

A thrilling ride for fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and Thomas Harris.

Suicides in Millingham are skyrocketing and only Lysander Shore knows why. Something unspeakable is murdering people. But Lysander has a dark secret of his own; one that traces back nearly 350 years to a witch’s gruelling execution. The witch has returned for bloody vengeance and now no one is safe.

MALICE 

Something unspeakable is murdering the townspeople of Millingham and only seventeen-year-old Lysander Shore knows what it is. A dark shadow that possesses its victims and forces them into grizzly acts of suicide. Lysander knows because he has seen it and he's pretty sure it saw him too.

Now he can't shake the eerie feeling he's being watched. And when his friends and neighbors begin to die under mysterious circumstances, he knows his only hope is to uncover what the shadow wants.

Lysander's frantic search for answers leads him to a dark secret. One that traces back to a witch's brutal torture and execution 350 years before. A secret about himself Lysander never knew. A secret he wishes he could forget.







GIVEAWAY
Enter and Comment for a chance to win a digital copy of MALICE. The winner will be selected using Random.org. This giveaway is open internationally. Ends Oct 29th 11:59PM CST




INTERVIEW
What does your significant other and family think of your writing career?

My girlfriend is very supportive. She often refers to herself as my editor/agent/publicist. The rest of my family is also very supportive, thank god. Making a living as a novelist is a tough enough gig already. Even my father, who never quite understood my need to be a writer, was always encouraging. 

Tell us about your current release.

The novel is called Malice. It's my first and if I had to slide it onto a bookstore shelf somewhere, I'd probably put it in the paranormal thriller section (assuming that even exists). If Stephen King, Alfred Hitchcock and Koji Suzuki (author of The Ring), collaborated, the result might look something like Malice. Part mystery, part horror thriller, Malice follows a 17-year-old named Lysander Shore as he begins to unravel a series of grisly murders made to look like suicides. Something is getting inside people and making them do unspeakable things. Lysander meets a girl named Samantha Crow, maybe the one person who believes he may be onto something. Together they peel away the layers to a mystery that leads all the way back to a Witch's harrowing execution in the 17th century.


Do you have plans for a new book? Is this book part of a series?

I do, yes. In fact I'm editing a 3rd draft of my new book now. It's not part of a series, although I'd always imagined a sequel to Malice. Most of that depends on the fans though. If they start kicking down my door, demanding another story with Lysander and Samantha, then I'll give it some serious thought. The new book is about a guy who discovers that things are following him back from the dream world. I had a blast writing that one.  

When did you know you wanted to be a writer?

That's hard to say. Most writer's I know talk about writing their first novel by age 3 and landing an agent by 5. I was a late bloomer. I do remember starting a novel when I was fifteen. I had an old typewriter that belonged to my parents and I'd taken it down off a dusty shelf and decided to see what I could do. Seemed easy enough. I got about a page in before I gave up and turned on my Sega Genesis.


When you write, how much planning do you do?

Not nearly enough. I'd love to plan, I just
don't have the patience. This whole business about writing pages of diary notes about the flavor ice cream your main character likes to eat. That never worked for me. I just need to know roughly where I'm headed and I climb on board. Now the 'climb on board' approach can be a pain when it comes time to editing. I often have to go back and set things up properly, but I love every part of creating stories, so in the end it's not a deal breaker for me.

What was the scariest moment of your life?

The first time I fell in love. Love can be a scary thing, but for me it was the first time I was afraid to die. I’d think about it all the time, what I would be leaving behind. I started obsessing. I feel much better now.

What is the hardest part of being a writer?

The world most writers live in is an incredibly lonely one and as a very social person who loves to share, I find that very difficult. If I nail a scene and I'm floating on cloud nine, there aren't a lot of people close to me I can share that with. I’ll usually get a, "oh, great honey." And it makes sense. I mean, I've been playing make-believe in my head all day. How can I expect anyone else to get excited about that. 

Do you prefer eBooks, paperbacks or hardcover?

I'm not a big fan of hardcover. They're bulky and awkward. Almost feels like curling up with a dresser in your lap. I much prefer paperbacks. EBooks are growing on me though.
Malice Buy Links







THANKS FOR LOOKING!

3 comments:

dbmoonauthor said...

Hi Griffin and Laurie!

Griffin, I've been stalking you on twitter, I like to hear about the person behind the story (In other words nice to meet you)

I write the same way you do, I have an idea in the beginning and an idea at the end- The middle is up for grabs.

Congrats on your first book and I wish you much success!!!!!

Oh almost forgot- db.moon@ymail.com

BlackWolf said...

sounds like a great book.. and i like the eye in the cover :p
darksiry(at)gmail(dot)com

Laurie said...

BlackWolf has won a copy of Malice! Congrats!